Paradise is so close to home

“Hey we have a few extra days, where do you want to go or do?”
“I don’t know, where should we go? Is there something going on we could do?”
“HHmm let me get on Google and see if I can find something.”

With gas prices soaring, and time for many being a precious commodity, it’s very hard to decide what to do. For those that are my age (no no don’t ask) I remember being piled into the family car and taking that ‘Sunday Drive’. As kids we had no idea where we were going. We didn’t complain (much) and we didn’t have every electronic gizmo in the world to distract us. We actually talked *gasp* with our family. We played games that spark our imaginations and challenged us.

I live in a very small community. And it is a wonderful community filled with folks that will start up a conversation like they’ve known you for years. The people here are humble, friendly and will often times be more than happy to come help you with a project you have going. If you head into the bigger town about 15 miles away you can walk into a Lowe’s or Home Depot where a nice man will, for the next 30 minutes, help you with every detail of getting your next project going. He’ll look at your list and make recommendations. As he walks off you suddenly realize he doesn’t even work there. Now that’s small town living.

So I decided to take off my city girl hat once and for all. I am a country gal now. I shall embrace all it has to offer. Here are a few of images of what can be seen within just a couple of miles from me.

A calm oasis.

A calm oasis.

Plat I Reservoir offers a peaceful setting where you’ll often times find folks fishing quietly by the shoreline. On Saturdays during the summer kids are out jumping off the docks and laughing.

Will need more foraging skills before I eat these.

Will need more foraging skills before I eat these.

Not sure what kind of mushrooms these were. But the cluster was about 6 inches wide and piled upon itself about another 6 inches up.

Even the ladybug seems happy to be here.

Even the ladybug seems happy to be here.

My pear tree was just magnificent this year! The blossoms are so beautiful with the white, yellow and red.

It's just amazing to watch them roll in.

It’s just amazing to watch them roll in.

A late storm rolled in at the end of May. I wish you could smell the air! If I could bottle this I would make a fortune.

Many were in full bloom, but the geese preferred I stay a bit farther back.

Many were in full bloom, but the geese preferred I stay a bit farther back.

Here at Cooper Creek Reservoir you will find lily pads in full bloom with big dragon flys buzzing along in all colors imaginable.

These little guys were very friendly

These little guys were very friendly

And I defy anyone to not go “OOhhh how cute!” when confronted by a friendly group of baby geese.

Late spring blossoms and a field of hay. Just beautiful.

Late spring blossoms and a field of hay. Just beautiful.

You know it’s early summer when the fields are being cut and the hay is rolled. Even some late spring flowers make for perfect quintessential scene.

4 thoughts on “Paradise is so close to home

  1. Gorgeous…and those pear blossoms are magnificent…..google maps? How long will it take me to drive to Oregon?

Leave a Reply

