Burger Project 2013 – Hamburger di Italia!

Che un progetto divertente questo è stato e continua ad essere! Oh sorry about that, got caught up in the Italian feel of this chapter. What I was saying was What a fun project this has been and continues to be.

And for the record no I do not speak Italian, rather I Google translate fluently and in many languages.

Tomato Harvest

Tomato Harvest

On to the burger. So a couple of nights ago my inspiration for this burger hit. I had harvested a whole lot of tomatoes and made tomato soup and also a large batch of Arrabbiata sauce and cooked a wonderful roast. Well I had some sauce left over and just refused to waste anything.

This is such a versatile sauce I recommend making a double batch and freezing some!

Arrabbiata Sauce

Arrabbiata Sauce

Everything just pulled together and made a very tasty, moist and packed with lots of flavors, hamburger.

Let’s start with our ingredients. Now remember, I may not type out salt and pepper in all my recipes, but it is a given that you must always taste and season your food. Salt wakes up the dormant flavors that are sometimes hiding just beyond the palates reach because of spicier seasonings, sweetness or even sour. Add a pinch of salt and suddenly you’ll start to taste new flavors you did not even know where there.

P1040791So here we have a pound of good hamburger, some onion, garlic, Proscuitto, Mozzarella and Arrabbiata sauce. You will also need a batch of garlic oil. Which I mentioned in one of my other burger projects.

Start by taking 1/2 of a large onion and grate it. Yes grate. You need this to be a fine consistency and let’s face it that’s a lot of knife work. So get out the grater and do the job much quicker. As you scoop the grated onion up, give a squeeze (over the sink) and get some of the liquid out. Next take 3 cloves of garlic. Now I know I’m going to get some flack here, but I want you to use a garlic press. I know, I know! But there is a time and place for a garlic press and this is it. It’s because you need that super fine consistency. If they are chunky even from a mince they won’t cook evenly. Ok so there, I said it. Add about 1/3 cup of the Arrabbiata sauce, a tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of black pepper and mix it up well. Be sure to measure the final product so you can get 4 even patties. P1040792

Put these babies on a medium grill for about 15 minutes. P1040793

Oh do these smell good. But they need to rest for about 5 minutes. Now then, let’s add the toppings and cover for a good rest. Top each burger with one piece of the Proscuitto and a slice of mozzarella cheese. I forgot the picture after I added the cheese but I’m sure you get the idea.

P1040794

Cover the patties and let’s make the buns.  Brush the hamburger buns with the garlic oil and sprinkle some dried Italian herb seasoning (it’s just dried herbs no salt). Place these on the grill and toast.

P1040795

P1040796

Assemble and enjoy 🙂

Italian Burger

I added just a touch of seasoned ketchup to one side of the burger bun. Served it with a salad, why Caesar of course!

You all have been taking notes on this project I hope. There just may be a test at the end.

3 thoughts on “Burger Project 2013 – Hamburger di Italia!

  1. “Che un progetto divertente questo è stato e continua ad essere! Oh sorry about that, got caught up in the Italian feel of this chapter. ” HAHAHAH! I too Google translate brilliantly. Like fried bread, grilled bread benefits from a small sprinkle of sea salt after you remove it from the grill. Somehow tones down the fat. Plus, arrabbiata? SNAP! Love that sauce. Clever woman.

    Now, if you get a chance, check out picmonkey.com. You may start playing in a big way.

Leave a Reply

