1 Pill, 2 Pills, Red Pills, Blue Pills

So while 2013 is going to be the year of The Burger Project, it also the year I eat a bit better and put healthier stuff in my gullet.

Which brings me to my trip to a vitamin store recently.  First if you’ve never been into one of these and you’re going there to pick up one small item, find an employee and fast; tell them what you need. Otherwise you will wander around with the doe in the headlight look for long agonizing minutes.

I’m suppose to be taking all of these –

Hers

Hers

Good lord this is a small meal when you take into consideration all the liquid I’m going to need to get them down! I shudder to think how many times I’ll be trotting off to the tinkler because of all the liquid needed to slurp these down.

Guys you’re going for this little appetizer –

His

His

OoOoo look at all the blue ones! And no you can’t use beer to wash them down.

There are pills, powders and liquids to pump you up, trim you down, speed up your metabolism, brighten your day, keep you focused, increase your memory, remove nausea (though I think taking all these might give me nausea). There are jars of liquid grass. GRASS! Freshly mowed and organic I’m sure. You can get bottles of chlorophyll. This is the stuff that makes plants green. At the vitamin shop it states “…called the ‘building block of life’. Without chlorophyll there is no life…” If you’re a PLANT!  Eat a salad instead.

All kidding aside this is crazy. Vitamins are a billion dollar industry. If I took as many pills as they recommend I would have to give up a meal along with a heft cut of my income due to the expense. And did they go to vitamin school? Cause the girl that helped me couldn’t have been more than 19 years old. I mean if I want to teach nutrition or be a dietician I have to go to 4 years of school. So if Casey really wants to tell me what vitamins I should take, she should really be asking me a few pertinent medical questions don’t cha think?

So not counting synthetic vitamins, where do all these “natural” vitamins get their ingredients from? **whispers** Food.

What what? Food you say? Well let’s see –

Calcium from bone and dairy. (which also covers Vitamin D)

Vitamin C from Citrus
Omega 3 from Fish

Vitamin B’s (B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B7, B9 and B12) Turkey, liver, tuna, chili peppers, lentils, bananas, potatoes just to name a few.

Iron – Bran flakes (also makes a nice coating for chicken), oatmeal, cream of wheat, steamed clams.

It all comes down to eating right. Well balanced food, fresh food, seasonal food.

Now the question…why was I there? Yep I went for supplements.  I wanted pure cranberry juice. Not that “cocktail” that you get in grocery stores which is mainly sugar and calcium, as I do not eat much dairy at all due to lactose intolerance.

Granted there are times when supplements are needed, but before you spend $100’s in the quick fix, take a look at your diet. Wouldn’t you rather have a great meal than a fist full of pills? I know I would!

6 thoughts on “1 Pill, 2 Pills, Red Pills, Blue Pills

  1. Oh, love this! I had the same experience. Sheesh! Just needed some basic protein powder for my morning smoothie because I know I don’t get enough – row after row after row of the stuff. And I’m drinking it with almond milk because I’m now lactose intolerant, too. Wow, what a business.

    BTW, I’ve since learned that calcium also comes from those wonderful, dark green, leafy veggies.

    Pills indeed! Thanks for the additional verification I needed to not spend part of my fixed income on that stuff!

  2. I had planned on becoming a clinical nutritionist . . . .until the gal said “anatomy & physiology”. Cadavers. Nope. Not me.

  3. I have a pharmacist who do a customary compound and they combine nearly all the vitamins needed for me according to my Dr. prescription (or just an order) and the result of which I though would be significantly reduce in the amount of pills I have to take, is down to 7 per days. This already include 1000 mg. or calcium but I have to take vitamin C separately. Well from 28 per day down to 9 during the day and 6 before bed time isn’t so bad isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

