Old Friends – New Memories

So this weekend we had just a wonderful visit with our old neighbors Jack and Eileen from down in S. Calif. They made the 18 hour drive to come up and stay for a few days and what a treat!

Jack and Eileen

Jack and Eileen

Not to mention the wonderful treats they brought. Eileen is such a wonderful baker and brought us containers filled with biscotti, pralines, brittle and wonderful bottles of wine. My tummy is very happy I can tell you. I cannot believe I didn’t get a picture of all the goodies, but darn if Derek and I didn’t tear into the biscotti like the kids in the movie ‘A Christmas Story’!

Presents!!

Presents!!

Then Jack, who is very talented with wood working made Derek and I a set of pens. These pens are gorgeous and I must say write very smoothly. I’m very proud to pull one out and sign things. These are truly elegant.

Beautiful Wood Pens

Beautiful Wood Pens

We explored Eugene did some shopping, indulged in fried chicken at Papa’s Soul Food Kitchen, and enjoyed a leisurely lunch at King’s Estate Winery and just had a wonderful visit! So I must say, if you have friends you haven’t seen in a while, do go visit them. If they are far away then pick up the phone and call. No no, don’t text message them, or Facebook them actually talk to them. I think you’ll be surprised how you just may make their day. I know Jack and Eileen made our weekend just wonderful.

Derek tending bar.

Derek tending bar.

Well aren't we just a cute pair!

Well aren’t we just a cute pair!

Artisan Cheese Plate

Artisan Cheese Plate

House Made Fettucini

House Made Fettucini

Brioche French Toast

Brioche French Toast

 

4 thoughts on “Old Friends – New Memories

  1. I should have added – listen to Denise about contacting “personally” old friends. One of my oldest and dearest friends of over 40 years died last year and for some reason we didn’t stop in San Jose to see her our last trip south. I’ll always regret that we didn’t! So, you know our old friends are all on the list this year!!!

Leave a Reply

