Becoming a Master Gardener

Coming in January I will be starting my classes for my Master Gardener certification. I am very excited to start this new adventure! I can only hope I have a fraction of the green thumb my mother does.

Went to our orientation and got our book, which weighs about 20 pounds I do believe so I guess I’ll get a workout walking to and from class. After reading the first chapter, as instructed, my brain is already fried. I am having to learn what appears to be greek, medical or just a totally different language. Words like totipotent (because some plants carry their entire DNA structure in it’s cells it can reproduce a totally new plant – remember spider plants?), meristems (a formative plant tissue usually made up of small cells capable of dividing indefinitely and giving rise to similar cells or to cells that differentiate to produce the definitive tissues and organs), tunicate (having, arranged in, or made up of concentric layers like an onion) and formulas like 6CO2 + 6H2O > C6H12O6 + 6O2. Look I stopped helping my own daughter with math when she was in third grade!

I really wish our book also came in digital format so I could use my online dictionary.

Stay Tuned!

Master Gardener Logo

Master Gardener Logo

7 thoughts on “Becoming a Master Gardener

  1. What an inspiration you are Denise. I LOVE gardening, but never thought of becoming a Master Gardener! Have fun!!!! Now I have someone I can go to for all my “green” questions!!!

  2. I am sure you will do fantastic in your Master Class! It reminds of the time when I started my university studies in biology. I was sitting next to my former history teacher who had just retired and took the botany class to improve his gardening skills 🙂

  3. Pingback: A time to plant a time to reap… | Oregon Green Acres

Leave a Reply

