Thanksgiving

We all have reasons to be thankful. To each of us it has meaning, memories, it gives us pause, thrills us or can even make us melancholy.

This year is a different one from our normal. And I think this new Thanksgiving will our norm for many years to come.

In the past, while living in S. Calif., I would cook for the clan. Not a huge one 10 (later nine with the loss of my mother in law) of us total and a couple of times with added neighbors or friends. I adore cooking. The dinner spread would consist of appetizers like crab stuffed cherry tomatoes, stuffed mushrooms, fresh veggies and cheeses. The smell of roasting turkey permeated the air and to this day can make me salivate on command. When everyone came to the table the wine would be poured and dinner would be served –

Roast Turkey
Stuffing (2 ways – One from the bird the other with sausage and water chestnuts)
Mashed potatoes with gravy
Swirled sweet potatoes with mashed potatoes called Duchess Potatoes
Corn with red peppers and butter
Green Bean Casserole (still LOVE this dish!)
Fresh made cranberry sauce (of course had to have a can of the jellied for hubby and father in law)
Deviled Eggs (Thanks Shannon)
Black and Green Olives (It never gets old putting olives on your fingers. Even as an adult I do it. I’m instantly transported to being a kid)
Cranberry Jello with Red Hots (Thanks Mom)
Baked Dinner Rolls

Of course there was pumpkin pie and pumpkin chiffon pie for dessert. It was then that we’d enter our food coma.

This year it’s just Derek and I. We’ve moved to Oregon and the family is still in S. Calif. And our daughter moved to Sweden. So you may wonder, why am I thankful?

I am thankful for my family, that I still have them around even though they might be far away. I am thankful for my wonderful husband who makes me laugh and worked so hard to give us a wonderful retirement. I am thankful for a daughter who makes my heart sore with pride. (This Thanksgiving is also her 24th birthday!) I am thankful for my new friends I’ve met here in Oregon. (Hi Anne Hi Kish) I am thankful for our Police Officers, Firefighters and our Military to diligently give up their holidays to help ensure we have safe and free ones.

So I hope this posting finds you enjoying your holiday, remembering loved ones, feasting with abandon and having a day to remember.

Leave a Reply

