My Friend, My Champion, My Dad

My Dad,

For all my life he worked for the SB Sheriff Dept. So he knew what the boogie man was. I was hovered over, watched like a hawk, not trusted as some of my friends were trusted by their parents, because lets face it kids screw up or get ‘involved’ with things.

But I look at differently. I was loved and protected. I was taught, with great pride today, what honor and integrity is. And when I did screw up, I learned from it. He helped make me a better person.

My dad didn’t always get the best shifts and more often than not would be called out on duty at some inopportune times. See, he had to deal with the dredges of society and their victims. Not a pretty job. I can tell you, that as a child, he never let it affect his home life. He grilled on Saturdays, swam in the pool with us and made the best whirl pools EVER! He loved my mom and they were/are a united front. I learned early on ‘parent shopping’ was not going to work.

I loved hanging out with my dad and would often follow him out to the garage to see what he was working on and if I could help. I’m sure he went to the garage to get away from the 3 females dominating the house with clothes, dolls, soap operas and phone chatter. If dad was going to the dump so would I. It’s funny, I still enjoy going and no clue why. Maybe because it brings back a memory of good times.

My dad taught me to fish. To this day I have only caught 2 fish in my life. But the times at Jinx lake were fun.

He amazed me at how he knew how to do things! Seriously there was no Google or DIY home improvement stores when I was a kid. But there he was building a deck for the pool, or converting the screen patio to a full on family room. He has never been a slacker. If there was work to be done, he did it and still does!

My dad was always looking out for my best interest, even though I didn’t need it. I knew everything! Right? Of course I didn’t know one of the guys I was dating in high school had been arrested for possession of cocaine. Ok ok, so dump that guy right quick! My dad never did anything out of anger it was always out of love for his daughters. Thank you Dad. He got me my first job, taught me how to right a resume, how to punch, and gave me my first beer at the age of 16 (all 4 oz of it – one of those little bitty Coors cans haha…ah good times…err time)

He is my hero, my champion, my friend, my supporter and the BEST Dad ever! I do not know why I was so lucky to get this man for my father but I thank my lucky stars I did. Happy Father’s Day Dad!

4 thoughts on “My Friend, My Champion, My Dad

Leave a Reply

