Garden Destroyed by Deer

Well I must allow others to learn from my experience. This is my second year for growing a garden. I knew I had so much learn so took the Master Gardener’s class this past winter and knewI had even MORE to learn. I fully realize now, that to keep deer out you need a mega fence! Some say 6 feet, others 7 feet. I’m going for 8+. Either that, or you must rotate your ‘repellents’ weekly. They are very persistent pests. They broke thru my fence tonight and decimated my garden.  This is the damage from 2 adult females in 20 minutes. My apple trees stripped, my broccoli totaled, my beans destroyed, egg plants chewed from 2 feet to 2 inches and tomatoes nibbled like a tasty appetizer. My canning season is officially over.

Total damage –

12 Broccoli Plants
40 Bush Beans Plants
9 Eggplants Plants
5 Grafted Apple Trees
10 Tomato Plants
8 Jalapeno Plants peppers and all
8 Anaheim Chili Plants chilies and all
6 Basil Plants and they were 2′ tall
2 Winter Squash plants, I was shocked because those leaves are sharp and feel sticky.

Don’t let this happen to you. If you have home remedy deer repellents be sure to change them out every couple of weeks. Either that or you can do what I am starting this weekend. Installing a mega fence. 8+ feet tall, incredibly sturdy so they can’t knock it down, kick it in or crawl under. Yes crawl.

1 of 5 Apple Trees Destroyed by Deer

1 of 5 Apple Trees Destroyed by Deer

Bush Beans destroyed by deer.

Bush Beans destroyed by deer.

Broccoli Plants Eaten

Broccoli Plants Eaten

I will not let this get the better of me. I will learn from this…I will learn to love venison. Time to buy ammo. Hubby wanted to grab his gun, but based on is caliber didn’t want “deer confetti”.  They are now vermin.

4 thoughts on “Garden Destroyed by Deer

  1. Oh Denise, this is such bad news and you were having such joy with your garden. We’ve always made sure of sturdy fences at least 6′ high. We figured if they could get over that height, they were hungry enough that we could live with it.

  2. They have not tried to go under but my fence goes to the ground. I imagine they would only go under if the fence is a bit off the ground. They will try to push on the fence but ours is sturdy enough it doesn’t matter. I took a pict to show you but I dont see a way to add it.

Leave a Reply

