Let’s Talk Chicken

Many of us buy it. But it’s getting expensive, at least if you buy it pre-cut. So I want to give you an example of some great savings. You just need to invest a bit of time, and I’ll break that down for you too. So at my grocery store whole chickens were on sale for .89 cents a pound. I bought 4 chickens weighing about 5.25lbs each at a cost of about $19.00 (I’m rounding up for easier math. I stopped helping my daughter with her math homework when she was in 3rd grade lol!)

Out of these I fabricated –

8 chicken legs (2 dinners)

8 wings (1 appetizer)

8 pounds of ground chicken (using thighs and breast meat) Store cost is $4.89 per pound.

I have 4 chicken carcasses that will be used to make chicken stock. I will get 16 pints of stock. At Costco a flat of Swanson chicken stock is $7.00 for 12 (14.5oz) cans.

Also have 4 chicken livers, 2 hearts (not always in carcass) and 4 giblets. These will be cat food. Thus reducing the amount of store purchase cat food she will consume 8 days.

If I were to buy all this separately –

Package of legs –       $4.35

Package of wings –    $1.99

Ground Chicken –     $39.12

Chicken Stock –       $10.00

Total –                       $55.46

I spent –                  -$19.00

I saved –                  $36.46

Now you’re saying, what about the time? To break down 4 chickens took me 20 minutes. Packaging up the legs and wings, 10 minutes. Grinding the chicken took about 40 minutes and packaging about 15 due to weighing out each portion. So for about an hour and half to save almost $40. I say that is time well spent.

One thought on “Let’s Talk Chicken

  1. D
    again you and I do so many things that are not the norm
    I always cut my own on top of the savings freshness is important and if you vacuum seal it can last up to 6 months w out freezer problems
    I like saving the breasts for strip
    And wings I cut both end off the middle joint of wings remove the bones and stuff them

Leave a Reply

